LIVE: Argentina take the lead after a quick start | Latest rugby news


Argentina scored two quick tries to take a 26-10 lead over the Wallabies in San Juan.

Dave Rennie’s men climbed to the top of the standings with a 41-26 victory in Mendoza, defying a season-ending injury to Quade Cooper.

Buy your tickets for the O’Reilly Cup and the Rugby Championship

James O’Connor slots into the fly half for the rematch, with foreign lock Rory Arnold bolstering the attacking squad.

The visitors were forced into a late switch with Folau Fainga’a (concussion) ruled out, bringing up Lachlan Lonergan in the starting side and Billy Pollard on the bench for his debut.

Meanwhile, the hosts have made four changes as they look to bounce back from the defeat.



36′: Marika Koroibete pulls off an incredible life-saving tackle to force an error and stop a certain try

33′: Juan Martín González Samso recovers the loose ball as Argentina extend their lead Argentina 26-10

29′: Crosses combine well as Len Ikitau bursts in to find Lalakai Foketi, only for the hosts to earn the turnover at the ruck.

24′: Jerónimo de la Fuente rushes and dives over Argentina 21-10

20 ‘: O’Connor loves a nice set piece, however, he is brought back for an illegal cleaning

15 ‘: O’Connor reduces the margin with a penalty straight ahead Argentina 14-10

12′: James Slipper dives after a great run from Rob Valetini Argentina 14-7

6′: Thomas Gallo crosses the line. Argentina 14-0

1′: Juan Imhoff catches a loose pass and runs away to open the scoring Argentina 7-0


TESTS: Imhoff, Gallo, de la Fuente, González Samso

AGAINST: Boffelli 3/4


TESTS: Slipper

AGAINST: O’Connor 1/1

PENS: O’Connor 1/1

Argentina: 15 Juan Cruz Mallía, 14 Emiliano Boffelli, 13 Matias Moroni, 12 Jerónimo de la Fuente, 11 Juan Imhoff, 10 Santiago Carreras, 9 Gonzalo Bertranou, 8 Pablo Matera, 7 Marcos Kremer, 6 Juan Martín González Samso, 5 Tomás Lavanini, 4 Matías Alemanno, 3 Francisco Gómez Kodela, 2 Julian Montoya (captain), 1 Thomas Gallo

Substitutes: 16 Agustin Creevy, 17 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 18 Joel Sclavi, 19 Facundo Isa, 20 Rodrigo Bruni, 21 Tomas Cubeli, 22 Tomas Albornoz, 23 Lucio Cinti

Australia: 15 Tom Wright, 14 Jordan Petaia, 13 Len Ikitau, 12 Lalakai Foketi, 11 Marika Koroibete, 10 James O’Connor, 9 Nic White, 8 Rob Valetini, 7 Fracer McReight, 6 Jed Holloway, 5 Darcy Swain, 4 Rory Arnold , 3 Taniela Tupou 2 Lachlan Lonergan, 1 James Slipper (captain).

Substitutes: 16 Billy Pollard, 17 Matt Gibbon, 18 Pone Fa’amausili, 19 Nick Frost, 20 Pete Samu, 21 Tate McDermott, 22 Irae Simone, 23 Reece Hodge.

Arbitrator: Karl Dickson (England)

Assistant referees: Mike Adamson (Scotland) & Chris Busby (Ireland)

TMO: Marius van der Westhuizen (South Africa)

The Wallabies v Argentina series will air only on Stan Sport.

The second test will be commercial-free, live and on-demand, with extensive coverage on Stan Sport starting at 4:45 a.m. AEST.

The Wallabies game against Argentina is not shown on free-to-air television as they are not covered by anti-siphoning laws, with only the home games and Bledisloe being covered by the Nine Network.

The second test between the Wallabies and Argentina kicks off at 5:10 a.m. AEST at the Estadio Bicentenario on Sunday, August 14.

Coverage will be ad-free from 4:45 a.m. AEST and will continue throughout the match on Stan Sport.


About Author

Comments are closed.