England-South Africa: Temba Bavuma excluded from the multi-format series


South African white ball captain Temba Bavuma has been ruled out of the multi-format England tour with an elbow injury.

Bavuma, 32, was recently injured in India and his recovery is expected to take at least eight weeks.

Spinner Keshav Maharaj will lead the ODI team, with slugger David Miller taking over as T20 captain.

The Proteas play three ODIs, three T20s and three Tests against England between July 19 and September 12.

They will also face Ireland in two T20s in Bristol on August 3 and 5.

Cricket South Africa coaches organizer Victor Mpitsang has said T20 matches are “a high priority” ahead of October’s World Cup in Australia.

Rilee Rossouw, who starred for Somerset in the T20 Blast, returns to the fold for the first time since 2016, while 21-year-old bowler Gerald Coetzee got his first call-up.

Rhythm thrower Kagiso Rabada is part of the Test and T20 squad, but is rested for the ODIs.

South Africa are currently ranked third in the world in the International Cricket Council’s Test rankings, and sixth and fourth in the One-Day and T20 rankings respectively.


ODI: Keshav Maharaj (captain), Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Janneman Malan, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Lizaad Williams , Khaya Zondo, Kyle Verreynne.

T20: David Miller (captain), Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Rassie van der Dussen.

Test: Dean Elgar (captain), Sarel Erwee, Marco Jansen, Simon Harmer, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Duanne Olivier, Keegan Petersen, Kagiso Rabada, Ryan Rickelton, Lutho Sipamla, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Khaya Zondo, Glenton Stuurman.



19 1st ODI, Chester-le-Street (d/n) (13:00 BST)

22 2nd ODI, Emirates Old Trafford (d/n) (13:00 BST)

24 3rd ODI, Clean Slate Headingley (11:00 BST)

27 1st International Twenty20, Seat Unique Stadium, Bristol (d/n) (6.30pm BST)

28 2nd International Twenty20, Cardiff (d/n) (6.30pm BST)

31 3rd International Twenty20, Ageas Bowl (2.30pm BST)


17-21 1st Test, Lord (11:00 BST)

25-29 2nd try, Emirates Old Trafford (11:00 BST)


8-12 3rd test, Kia oval (11:00 BST)


About Author

Comments are closed.